This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
What's New: News Release

SFAA Elects Board Members and President

Friday, May 12, 2017  

Contact: Bryan Surcouf
Phone: (202) 778-3629

The Surety & Fidelity Association of America Elects Board Members and President

MAY 12, 2017, WASHINGTON, D.C.— The Surety & Fidelity Association of America (SFAA) elected Ross Fisher from The Hartford as Chair of the Board for 2017-2018. Mr. Fisher serves as the Senior Vice President of specialty commercial insurance for The Hartford, which includes the company’s national accounts, captive programs and bond business. As one of the largest underwriters of surety and fidelity bonds in the U.S., The Hartford has been writing bonds for more than 100 years and provides surety and fidelity products to companies of all sizes. Mr. Fisher is a 25-year veteran of the surety and insurance industry. He joined The Hartford in 2003 and had previously held various management positions in the industry.

Larry Taylor was elected as Vice Chair of the Board. Mr. Taylor is the President of Merchants Bonding Company Group. He joined Merchants Bonding Company TM in 1989 and became the company’s President in 1996.

Also elected to the SFAA Executive Committee were John S. Welch, President and Chief Executive Officer, CNA Surety; Bob Murray, Executive Vice President and Head of Surety for Zurich North America; and Stephen Haney, Division Chairman, North America Surety, and Chief Underwriting Officer, Global Surety, Chubb Surety, as well as the SFAA Board Immediate Past Chair, Ex Officio.

In addition to those companies, SFAA members elected to serve on the Board were: AIG Property Casualty represented by John Phinney, Chief Underwriting Officer; Amtrust Group represented by Dan Young, Chief Underwriting Officer; Great American Insurance Group represented by Gary Dunbar, President, Bond Division; The Guarantee Company of North America represented by Stephen C. Ruschak, President and Chief Operating Officer; The Hanover Insurance Group represented by Theodore Martinez, Vice President and Chief Underwriting Officer; Liberty Mutual Group represented by Timothy Mikolajewski, President; Markel Surety Corporation represented by John Knox, Jr., President, and Chief Executive Officer; Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company represented by Antonio C. Albanese, Vice President-Head of Surety; Old Republic Surety Company represented by Alan Pavlic, President and Chief Operating Officer; The Travelers Companies, Inc. represented by Thomas M. Kunkel, President and Chief Executive Officer; and Westfield Insurance Group represented by Dennis Baus, National Surety Leader and Senior Executive. Hannover Rück Reinsurance represented by Eric Arnst, General Manager and Senior Vice President, also was elected as the reinsurance representative on the Board.

Lynn M. Schubert was re-elected as SFAA President.


The Surety & Fidelity Association of America (SFAA) is a trade association of more than 450 insurance companies that write the vast majority of surety and fidelity bonds in the U.S. SFAA is licensed as a rating or advisory organization in all states and it has been designated by state insurance departments as a statistical agent for the reporting of fidelity and surety experience.

View PDF version

1140 19th Street, NW, Suite 500 • Washington, DC 20036-6617
Phone: 202-463-0600 • Fax: 202-463-0606